Lost in Translation 

Courtney drew/explained first and I followed. It was the classic house on a hill drawing. I think she did a pretty good job of explaining it- the pictures are very similar besides our drawing styles. The only thing I had trouble with was the placement of the windows and maybe some sizing issues. 

Top: Courtney 

Bottom: Me


I drew/explained next, and mine was definitely more complicated than Courtney’s. I don’t think I have a knack for explaining something while I’m doing it. I’m more of a prep, complete, and follow up kind of person. I started my own drawing with a profile of a squirrel. I neglected to mention to Courtney that my squirrel was standing up and also gigantic. From there I explained the squirrel was wearing a ski mask, but Courtney drew a hockey mask from that one horror movie on her squirrel (I probably should have clarified). Then I drew a large bag of money in the squirrels hands and when Courtney heard this, she realized my squirrel was a burglar (not a serial killer) and changed the mask. Then I asked her to draw a city scene in the back complete with a bank and police cruisers. I don’t think it ended up nearly as bad as it could have, but there’s definitely room for improvement.  

 
Top: Me

Bottom: Courtney 

This exercise was definitely more challenging than I thought it would be. Clear and thorough communication are a must if you’re trying to pull this exercise off perfectly. However, even the most careful of observers could run into problems with this activity because a lot of it is based off of interpretation and we all interpret things differently. 

  

Leave a Reply

